Book Study Group

What Is the Bible?: How an Ancient Library of Poems, Letters, and Stories Can Transform the Way You Think and Feel About Everything
By Rob Bell

Rob Bell is a bestselling author, international teacher, and highly sought after public speaker. His books include The New York Times bestseller Love Wins, along with What We Talk About When We Talk About God, The Zimzum of Love, Velvet Elvis, Sex God, Jesus Wants to Save Christians, Drops Like Stars. At age 28 he founded Mars Hill Bible Church in Michigan, and under his leadership it was one of the fastest-growing churches in America. In 2011 he was profiled in Time Magazine as one of their 100 most influential people. Rob was featured on Oprah's 2014 Life You Want Tour and will be speaking at venues around the world in 2015 on the Everything is Spiritual Tour. He and his wife Kristen have three children and live in Los Angeles.


In Love Wins, Rob Bell confronted the troubling questions that many people of faith were afraid to ask about heaven, hell, fate, and faith. Using the same inspired, inquisitive approach, he now turns to our most sacred book, the Bible. What Is the Bible? provides insights and answers that make clear why the Bible is so revered and what makes it truly inspiring and essential to our lives.

Rob takes us deep into actual passages to reveal the humanity behind the Scriptures. You cannot get to the holy without going through the human, Rob tells us. When considering a passage, we shouldn’t ask "Why did God say . . .?" To get to the heart of the Bible’s meaning, we should be asking: "What’s the story that’s unfolding here and why did people find it important to tell it? What was it that moved them to record these words? What was happening in the world at that time? What does this passage/story/poem/verse/book tell us about how people understood who they were and who God was at that time?" In asking these questions, Rob goes beyond the one-dimensional question of "is it true?" to reveal the Bible’s authentic transformative power.  

Rob addresses the concerns of all those who see the Bible as God’s Word but are troubled by the ethical dilemmas, errors, and inconsistencies in Scripture. With What Is the Bible?, he recaptures the Good Book’s magic and reaffirms its power and inspiration to shape and inspire our lives today.  Visit for more information. The book can be purchased online from all major retailers.

To purchase the book on Amazon click here

To purchase the book through Barnes & Noble click here


June 8- Book study begins, Introduction through Moses and His Moisture (pp 1-17)
June 15- No Gathering
June 22- Second Gathering, Somebody Wrote Something Down through the Importance of Altitude (pp 19-54)
June 29- Third Gathering, Smoking Firepots through Larry in the Airport (pp 55-87) 
July 6- Fourth Gathering, Flood through All that Violence (pp 91-124)
July 13- No Gathering
July 20- No Gathering 
July 27- Fifth Gathering, Do What To Our Whats? Through the Whole Melchizedek Thing… (pp 125-150)
August 3- Sixth Gathering, So How did Jesus Read the Bible to the Human and the Divine (pp 151-188)
August 10- Seventh Gathering, Babel through Why Americans Often Miss the Major Themes (pp 193-216)
August 17- No Gathering
August 24- Eighth Gathering, Why Are There All Those Genealogies through Did Jesus Have to Die (pp 221-246)
August 31- Ninth Gathering, What About Predestination through What About Contradictions (pp 247-278)
September 7- Last gathering, Is it Inerrant? Through What’s the Other Best Question to Ask… (pp 279-305)